Unfamiliar territory

It just occurred to me that the first time I learned about the concept of a missionary was back when I was in High School. I was at my best friend’s church and I got curious about a family picture pinned on the prayer wall with a country name written at the bottom. I asked what about that family are they praying for and she told me that they are ministering to people in a non-christian country and they need prayers. A whole family. In a threatening environment. For Christ. wow.

It just dawned on me, that up until recently, I saw missionary work as done primarily by a group of singles like me when in fact I have heard of many cases where a family up and leaves for missionary work. Family. with kids. Let that sink in for a moment. I needed that to sink in for a moment.

Right now, I’m involved in an outreach work at a nearby barangay and I already find it difficult to manage my time in order to meet the families there for Bible Study. For instance, I mostly go alone and I’ve been praying for more workers to help me in following up people. Still, I’m in a catholic country so there’s no evident threat to my life (by God’s grace), and it’s already very challenging. How much more to those missionary families? A family is a very complicated setup filled with responsibilities in itself. I can’t imagine what they must be facing. But see, It was a conscious decision for them. They chose to serve God and live by faith. I am in awe.

I praise the Lord for their lives. It’s got me thinking about how I am spending my single years and how I desire it to be spent for Christ.

2 Comments

Leave a comment